This page has two jobs. First, it explains every line printed on the panel of the bottle we sell, what each ingredient is, and what the research does and does not say about it, including who was in each study, at what amount and who paid for it. Second, and this is the part most advertising pages leave out, it lists the headlines we run, tells you which ones are exaggerated, and separates the small number of things that are genuinely supported by evidence from the many that are not.
You almost certainly arrived here from an advertisement. The headline you clicked was written by us and paid for by us to appear next to real news stories. It was designed to make you stop scrolling. Several of our headlines overstate what science actually shows, and a few attribute statements to experts who do not exist.
Everything on this site is a paid advertisement for a product we sell. If you buy through a link on any of our pages, we are paid a commission. That is the reason this site exists.
The product is a two-ounce bottle of a perishable drink, sold fifteen, thirty or sixty bottles to a box by 10,000 Inc. of Venice, California, as a dietary supplement. One bottle is a serving, taken in the morning, and the bottles are kept refrigerated. Each bottle carries 100 mg of vitamin C, 25 mcg of vitamin D3, 1 mg of riboflavin, 8 mg of niacin and 2.4 mcg of vitamin B12, each with its percent of the Daily Value printed beside it, plus 55 mg of caffeine from powdered green tea, and one further line: a patented blend weighing 1,925 mg that covers nine named plants and compounds with no individual amount printed for any of them. It is not a medicine, it is not meant for any medical condition, and no study has ever tested those nine things together in anyone. The label carries the standard statement that its claims have not been evaluated by the FDA. No food, drink or supplement on this page is a substitute for your own clinician.
If you are genuinely worried about your memory, the single most useful thing you can do is book an appointment with your own clinician. That costs you nothing from us, and a proper conversation about your nights, your hearing, what you take daily and your habits is worth more than anything we are selling. We would rather you close this page and make that call than buy something under a false impression.
These are the headlines we have run, grouped by the claim they make. The right-hand column is our own plain assessment. We have marked each family of headlines as Exaggerated, Partly true, Withdrawn, Our headline was wrong or Broadly supported.
| The headline as you saw it | What is actually behind it |
|---|---|
| "Mental Decline Begins When Seniors Can't Spell These 3 Words. Test Now""Top Doctors Say Mental Decline Begins When Seniors Can't Pronounce These 3 Phrases. Can You?""Memory Decline Begins When Seniors Say These 3 Phrases (See The List)""Declining Memory Begins When Seniors Say These 7 Phrases. See Which Ones" | Exaggerated There is no set of three words, three phrases or seven phrases whose spelling or pronunciation marks the beginning of anything. Nothing "begins" at a word. Word tasks do appear inside the short memory checks clinicians use, but those checks are given in person and read alongside your history, what you take daily and your age. Failing a word online means nothing on its own: plenty of people stumble over a word when they are tired, nervous or being timed. "Top Doctors" refers to no specific person. See section 4. |
| "Japan's Oldest Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Avoid Drinking These 3 Beverages""Japan's Greatest Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Avoid Drinking These 3 Beverages""Japan's Oldest Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Stop Eating These 3 Foods" | Exaggerated No group of Japanese doctors issued this statement. There is no such panel, no such list, and no source we can point you to. Japan appears in the headline because it is widely associated with long life, which makes the claim feel credible. That is a marketing decision, not a citation. The second half is also wrong. Memory changes with age for everyone, and no diet removes that. What is true is narrower: certain long-term drinking and eating patterns travel with faster slippage on thinking tests in large population studies. [1] [2] Association is not proof of cause, and "just avoid these three" is not how any of it works. |
| "Nobel Prize's Doctors Say Memory Loss Isn't Age: Just Stop Eating These 3 Foods" | Withdrawn We retract this one outright. No Nobel laureate has endorsed this page, this product, or any list of three foods on our behalf. Attaching the Nobel Prize to an advertisement implies an authority that does not exist and we should not have run it. |
| "The Overlooked Boxed Cereal Now Tied to 8 Out of 10 Memory Cases" | Our headline was wrong There is no such statistic. No study ties any cereal to eight out of ten cases of anything, "memory cases" is not a category any researcher uses, and no cereal has been "overlooked" by anyone: the sugar figure is printed on the side of every box. The number was invented for the headline and we withdraw it. The grain of truth is the same as for the other cereal headlines below: a diet heavy in ultra-processed food, the sweet cereal shelf included, travels in a large Brazilian study with somewhat faster slippage on thinking tests over eight years. [2] That is a modest association across thousands of people, not eight in ten of anyone. See section 3. |
| "Brain Experts Now Say These 3 Cereals Age the Brain Faster Than Time""Scientists Now Say This 1 Cereal Ages the Brain Faster Than Time" | Exaggerated No food ages the brain "faster than time." That phrase was written for effect and it is not a finding from any study. It is also internally inconsistent: in one version it is three cereals, in another it is one, because the number is something we test for click-through, not something anyone measured. The grain of truth: diets high in ultra-processed food are associated with somewhat faster slippage on thinking tests over years. [2] That is a modest effect across a population, not a fate sealed by a bowl of cereal. See section 3. |
| "Doctors Now Say This Popular Evening Drink Is Behind Memory Loss" | Partly true The "evening drink" is alcohol, and of everything our ads point at, this is where the evidence is strongest. In British civil servants followed for thirty years, higher drinking went with shrinkage of the hippocampus, the region most involved in forming memories, and with faster decline in word fluency; light drinkers had no edge over non-drinkers. [1] What is overstated is the word "behind." Alcohol is one contributing factor among many, not the cause of memory slips. Cutting back is a genuinely good idea. It is also worth saying plainly: the bottle we sell contains no alcohol, and it does contain 55 mg of caffeine, which is a reason to take it in the morning rather than the evening. |
| "Doctors Name 5 Popular Drinks Now Tied To Memory Decline. Coffee Tops The List""Seniors: These 4 Drinks May Be Aging Your Brain Faster""The 4 Drinks Brain Doctors Want Seniors to Quit""Doctors: 3 Popular Drinks Now Tied to Memory Loss in Seniors" | Exaggerated Notice that the count changes: three drinks, four, five. It changes because it is an advertising variable we rotate, not a number that came out of a study. No doctor is named in any version, because none was consulted. "Coffee Tops The List" is the clearest thing we have got wrong: none of the studies on this page is about plain coffee, and the product we sell is itself a caffeinated morning drink carrying about half a cup of coffee's worth. The Food and Drug Administration cites 400 milligrams of caffeine a day, two to three 12-ounce cups of brewed coffee, as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in most healthy adults. [3] See section 2. |
| "Brain Doctors: Quit These 4 Drinks Before It's Too Late" | Exaggerated No brain doctor was consulted for this headline, and there is no "too late." The deadline was invented to make you click. The four drinks are the ones in section 2: alcohol, sugar-sweetened soft drinks, energy drinks and sweetened coffee-shop drinks. Cutting back on them is sensible for your nights, your weight and your wallet, and heavy drinking travels with poorer memory outcomes over years. [1] There is no evidence that quitting them on any particular day changes anything about your memory, and there is no age after which the change stops being worth making. See section 2. |
| "Memory Slipping? Check These 4 Everyday Drinks First" | Partly true Half right, in the wrong order. If your memory is slipping, the first thing to check is not a drink; it is a conversation with your own clinician about your nights, your hearing and what you take daily, none of which is settled by changing what you pour. The four drinks are the everyday ones in section 2. Reviewing them is a reasonable second step. Not enough plain water belongs on the list too. [4] [5] See section 2. |
| "America's Top Experts Say Mental Decline Isn't Aging: Just Avoid These 5 Kitchen Drinks" | Exaggerated The same construction as the "Japan's doctors" headline above, with the country changed. No panel of American experts issued this statement, and we cannot point you to one. Memory changes with age, and no drink removes that. The five kitchen drinks are alcohol, sugar-sweetened sodas, diet sodas, energy drinks and sweetened coffee-shop drinks, all in section 2, where the honest version of each is written out. "Just avoid" overstates what any of that evidence shows. |
| "Still Sharp at 90? Seniors Are Rethinking These 3 Everyday Foods" | Partly true The gentlest of our headlines, and still an overstatement. Nobody knows what keeps a particular person sharp at 90, and no single food does it. The three everyday foods are sugary breakfast cereals, processed meats and packaged baked goods, all in section 3. Eating less of them is part of the long, slow habits in section 5, and no food is a promise at any age. |
| "A morning bottle with ten clinically studied ingredients" | Our headline was wrong We have run versions of this line and we withdraw it. The panel of this bottle prints an amount for five vitamins and for nothing else. The nine plants and compounds people actually buy it for sit inside one patented blend weighing 1,925 milligrams with no individual amounts printed, so no reader, and no one outside the company, can check any of them against the amount its study used. A phrase like "at studied doses" cannot be verified from a label that does not print the doses, and we should not have written it. See section 6. |
| "A Two-Ounce Morning Bottle, Run Through My Kitchen Like a New Recipe" | Broadly supported This is the headline of the article itself, and what it describes is a method rather than a result. The bottle holds two fluid ounces, a quarter of a cup, as its own label prints, and the article measures it in kitchen units, tastes it, sets half a cup of brewed coffee beside it as the comparison, and lays out thirty alternating mornings that fit inside the seller's hundred-day refund window on a first purchase. It does not say the bottle works. It says how a reader can find out for himself at his own counter, and it says plainly that he will know which mornings are bottle mornings, which will lean on his notes. The caffeine figures behind the comparison are the Food and Drug Administration's: 113 to 247 milligrams in a twelve-ounce cup of brewed coffee, against 55 milligrams in the bottle. [3] Section 6 sets each of the nine names in the blend beside the amount its own study used. |
| "Neurologists Name 5 Popular Prescriptions Now Tied to Memory Decline" | Partly true, and the one not to act on alone No neurologist named a list for us, and we will not print one. What is true is that pharmacists keep lists of everyday products, some sold over the counter, that are often a poor fit after 65, and that a yearly look at everything you take is worth having. But an advertisement is the worst possible reason to change anything a clinician gave you: never stop or change it because of something you read in an ad, including ours. Put everything you take in one bag, this bottle included, and ask your pharmacist. See the box at the end of section 2. |
An honest answer: these headlines appear beside real news stories, competing for attention with everything else on the page, and dramatic phrasing gets clicked. That is the incentive, and we are subject to it like every other advertiser.
It is also why this page exists. Once you are here, you are entitled to know exactly which claims we can stand behind and which ones were written to get your attention. Everything below is the sober version.
Our headlines have referred, in different versions, to "3 beverages", "4 drinks", "5 popular drinks" and "this popular evening drink" without ever naming them. Here is the complete list of what we were pointing at, and what the research actually supports for each one. Where a study is cited, it is observational unless stated otherwise: it can show that two things travel together in a population, not that one causes the other.
This is the "popular evening drink" · Best-supported of the group
What the research says. A long-running study of British civil servants found that higher drinking, even at moderate levels, went with shrinkage of the hippocampus and faster decline in word fluency, and that light drinkers had no advantage over people who did not drink. [1] Alcohol also disturbs your nights and interacts with many everyday medicines.
Honest verdict. Of everything on this list, cutting back on alcohol has the strongest case behind it. It is still not "the cause" of memory slips, and no amount of cutting back is a promise.
About the product we sell. It contains no alcohol. It is a two-ounce drink taken in the morning, and it carries 55 mg of caffeine, so the evening is the wrong end of the day for it.
Important. If you drink heavily every day, do not stop abruptly on your own. Ask your clinician how to cut back safely.
Part of the "3 popular drinks" and "4 drinks" · Partly supported
What the research says. Soft drinks sit on the ultra-processed shelf, and in a Brazilian study of 10,775 adults followed for about eight years, the people who ate and drank the most from that shelf slipped somewhat faster on thinking tests than those who ate the least. [2]
Honest verdict. A reasonable thing to cut down on, mostly for reasons that have nothing to do with a dramatic headline. Replacing them with water is a cheap, low-risk change. [4]
About the product we sell. It is not a soft drink, but it is not sugar-free either: the panel prints three grams of total sugars a bottle and states that all three are added sugars, six percent of the day, alongside 25 calories.
Often the "surprising" drink in our ads · No evidence we can stand behind
What the research says. We are not aware of a study that gives a clear answer about diet soft drinks and everyday memory, and we cite none here.
Honest verdict. Unresolved, and not a reason to panic. Anyone who tells you diet soda has been shown to harm your memory is going beyond the evidence.
Part of the "4 drinks brain doctors want seniors to quit" · Indirect concern
What the research says. There is little direct research linking energy drinks to memory. The concern for older adults is more immediate: high caffeine loads combined with sugar can bring a faster heartbeat, palpitations, jitters, an upset stomach and a poor night. [3]
Honest verdict. Worth avoiding if you are over 65 or sensitive to caffeine, for those reasons rather than any proven memory effect.
About the product we sell, plainly. It is a caffeinated drink too. It carries 55 mg a bottle, roughly half a cup of brewed coffee, which is a fraction of what a large energy drink carries, and the European Food Safety Authority puts single doses up to 200 mg and daily intakes up to 400 mg inside the range that does not raise safety concerns for healthy adults. [6] If you already drink three coffees, add this one to that total rather than treating it as free.
The version of "coffee" our ads should have named · Partly supported
What the research says. These are sugary drinks that happen to contain coffee. Whatever applies to sugar-sweetened beverages applies to them. A large flavored frappé can carry as much added sugar as a soft drink.
Honest verdict. If our "coffee" headline had meant this, it would have been defensible. It did not, and we should have been specific.
Named in our headline as the worst offender · Our headline was wrong
What the research says. None of the studies on this page is about ordinary black coffee or plain tea, and tea is a routine part of the eating patterns studied for memory. Green, black and oolong tea all come from the same plant, and green tea contains caffeine. [7] Caffeine late in the day can cost you a night, so timing matters more than the drink itself. The Food and Drug Administration cites 400 milligrams of caffeine a day, two to three 12-ounce cups of brewed coffee, as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in most healthy adults. [3]
Honest verdict. "Coffee Tops The List" was a bad headline, and it is a particularly awkward one for us, because the caffeine in the bottle we sell comes from powdered green tea. If you drink coffee, enjoy it, and it does not cost you your nights, the evidence does not ask you to give it up.
We do not print a list, and you should not act on one from an advertisement. Do not stop, reduce or skip anything a clinician gave you because of this page or any of our headlines.
The right action is simple: put everything you take, including what you buy over the counter, into one bag with this bottle and take it to your pharmacist. Ask: "Is anything here a poor choice at my age, and does anything here argue with 55 milligrams of caffeine or with any of the nine plants in this blend?" That second question matters here because the blend does not print amounts, so your pharmacist is working from names rather than figures, and should be told so.
The food headlines referred to "3 foods" and to "cereals": one cereal in some versions, three in others. Again, the number was ours, not a finding. Here is what was meant, and what stands behind it.
The "3 cereals" / "1 cereal" that "age the brain faster than time" · Partly supported
What the research says. Frosted, honey-coated and chocolate cereals are mostly refined starch and added sugar, and many carry more sugar per serving than a cookie. They sit on the ultra-processed shelf that travels with faster slippage on thinking tests over years. [2] No study has found that any cereal "ages the brain faster than time." That phrase is ours and it is not defensible. In the Framingham families, diets that carried more choline, which is eggs, milk, meat and beans, went with better scores on memory tests. [8]
Honest verdict. Reading the sugar figure on the box is a sensible habit. Plain oats, plain shredded wheat and unsweetened whole-grain cereals are inexpensive swaps, and eggs, milk and beans are where that study's choline came from.
The honest version of all our food headlines · Partly supported
What the research says. A large Brazilian cohort found that adults with the highest intake of ultra-processed foods slipped faster on overall thinking and planning tests over roughly eight years than those who ate the least. [2] This is observational, the effect size was modest, and diet is tangled up with income, education and dozens of other factors.
Honest verdict. The pattern of your food over years matters more than any single item. That is a duller message than "these 3 foods", which is exactly why our headlines do not say it.
Usually one of the "3 foods" · Partly supported
What the research says. Processed meats are part of the ultra-processed shelf in the study above. [2]
Honest verdict. Worth moderating. Not an emergency, and not undone by any supplement or any bottle.
Usually one of the "3 foods" · Partly supported
What the research says. Fast food sits on the same shelf, and the same study applies. [2]
Honest verdict. Same as above: pattern over years, not any one meal.
The refined-carbohydrate group · Partly supported
What the research says. The eating pattern most studied for memory is the MIND pattern: leafy greens, berries, beans, nuts, whole grains, olive oil and fish. In a three-year trial of 604 older adults, the group that ate that way and a group that simply ate a little less both improved their thinking scores, by about the same amount. [9] Berries, leafy greens, beans, nuts, olive oil and fish are ordinary groceries; eating them costs nothing extra and is untroubled by any of the cautions on this page.
Honest verdict. The useful advice was never "stop eating these 3 foods." It is "shift the overall pattern," which takes months and cannot be sold in a headline.
Drink less alcohol. Drink less sugar. Keep your coffee, earlier in the day if it costs you your nights, and count the 55 milligrams in this bottle as part of that total. Eat more like the MIND or Mediterranean pattern (vegetables, whole grains, beans, nuts, olive oil, fish, berries) and less like a vending machine. Every one of those changes costs nothing extra, and none of them requires anything we sell.
Several of our headlines invite you to test yourself on words or phrases: spell these three words, pronounce these three phrases, see whether you say these seven phrases. There is no such validated test, and we cannot give you a real one, because a real one does not work that way.
What an actual memory check looks like. Clinicians use short structured checks. They do include word tasks: recalling three unrelated words after a delay, naming animals, repeating a sentence. But three things make them different from an online quiz:
These checks also produce false alarms. A bad night, trouble hearing, and simply being nervous all lower scores in people whose memory is fine. This is precisely why an online word quiz is meaningless: it has none of the context that makes the real check useful.
We are sorry. Take it as a prompt rather than a verdict: if the worry is real, bring it to your own clinician and ask for a proper memory check. If it was just a startling headline, the reassurance you are looking for cannot come from a quiz on an advertising page, including this one.
If we only had one section to be useful in, this would be it. None of these is a supplement, a bottle, or a list of three foods, and none of them can be sold to you by us.
These are unglamorous. They cannot be delivered in a headline, they take years, and they are, by a wide margin, the most useful things on this entire page.
What each line printed on the panel of Magic Mind Original is, what it is traditionally used for, and what the cited research says, including who was in each study, at what amount and who paid for it. One two-ounce bottle is a serving. Three notes on the panel itself, which you should read before the entries below. The five vitamin lines each carry a weight and a percent of the Daily Value, and they are the only lines on the panel with individual amounts. [11] Everything else a buyer is interested in sits inside a single patented line weighing 1,925 milligrams and covering nine names, with no split printed, so none of those nine can be checked against the amount its own study used: for scale, the lion's mane trial in adults over 50 used 3,200 milligrams a day of the mushroom alone, [12] the bacopa trials in adults over 55 used 300 milligrams a day, [13] [14] and the citicoline trial in adults aged 50 to 85 used 500 milligrams a day. [15] And the matcha inside that same line has to carry the 55 milligrams of caffeine the seller states, [7] so a real but unprinted share of the 1,925 is powdered tea leaf.
A water-soluble vitamin found in citrus, peppers, berries and leafy greens. The body cannot make it and does not store much of it, so it has to come in with the food every day.
Traditional and everyday use. Citrus and fresh greens have been eaten against scurvy since the days of sailing ships.
What the research says. The Daily Value printed on US labels is 90 mg.[11] We registered no trial of vitamin C alone on memory or attention in healthy adults, so the entry stays descriptive.
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. 100 mg (111 % of the Daily Value)
Good to know. Amounts above about 2,000 mg a day can upset the stomach; people with a history of kidney stones should ask their doctor before taking large doses.
The 'sunshine vitamin': the skin makes it from sunlight, and it is added to milk and found in fatty fish and egg yolk. It regulates calcium and bone. Many older adults in northern latitudes have low blood levels in winter.
Traditional and everyday use. No traditional use; identified in the 1920s.
What the research says. In the three-year DO-HEALTH trial of 2,157 adults aged 70 and older, 2,000 IU a day of vitamin D3 produced no statistically significant benefit on a cognitive screening score, alone or combined with omega-3s and exercise.[16] Correcting a real deficiency is a matter for a blood test and a doctor, not for a memory page.
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. 25 mcg (1,000 IU) (125 % of the Daily Value)
Good to know. Safe at label doses; the tolerable upper level for adults is 100 mcg (4,000 IU) a day. Too much over time raises blood calcium.
A water-soluble B vitamin found in milk, eggs, lean meat, almonds and fortified cereals. It is the part of the coenzymes the body uses to turn food into energy and gives a bright yellow color to urine when taken in excess.
What the research says. The Daily Value printed on US labels is 1.3 mg.[11] We registered no trial of riboflavin on memory or attention in healthy adults.
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. 1 mg (77 % of the Daily Value)
Good to know. Very well tolerated; excess leaves in the urine.
One of the two common forms of vitamin B3, also called nicotinamide. Unlike the other form, nicotinic acid, it does not cause the skin flush that high doses of niacin can produce. It occurs in meat, fish, nuts, legumes and enriched grains.
What the research says. A Cochrane review of 14 trials in 27,882 cognitively healthy adults concluded that B-vitamin supplements probably have little or no effect on global cognitive function up to five years.[17] In the European Union, niacin carries authorised claims that it contributes to normal psychological function and to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue.
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. 8 mg (50 % of the Daily Value)
Good to know. Well tolerated at the amounts found in supplements of this size. Talk to your doctor before taking it if you take anything daily.
A vitamin found naturally only in animal foods — meat, fish, eggs and dairy — and in fortified products. The body absorbs it through a two-step process in the stomach and small intestine that becomes less efficient with age, which is why supplement doses are often many times the daily requirement: only a small percentage of a large oral dose is taken up.
What the research says. A Cochrane review of 14 trials in 27,882 cognitively healthy adults concluded that B-vitamin supplements, including vitamin B12, probably have little or no effect on global cognitive function up to five years.[17] That review says nothing about people who are actually short of B12; in the European Union the vitamin carries authorised claims that it contributes to normal psychological function, to normal functioning of the nervous system and to the reduction of tiredness and fatigue.
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. 2.4 mcg (100 % of the Daily Value)
Good to know. No upper limit has been set, because unabsorbed vitamin B12 is not stored. A blood test is the only way to know whether you are short of it; ask your doctor rather than guessing.
An edible mushroom with long, white, downward-hanging spines that grows on older beech and oak trees in temperate forests across the Northern Hemisphere. It is eaten as food, especially in East Asia and the United States, with a texture often compared to crab or lobster.
Traditional and everyday use. Known as yamabushitake in Japan and houtougu in China, it has a long history of use as a food and in East Asian and Native American traditions.
What the research says. In a 12-week placebo-controlled trial of 31 healthy adults over 50, a daily lion's mane fruiting-body preparation (3.2 g/day) was associated with higher scores on a standard mental-status test compared with placebo.[12] A visual-retention test in the same trial did not change, and the dose was far larger than most blends and extracts deliver. In a separate pilot trial in 41 healthy adults aged 18 to 45, a single 1.8 g dose was associated with faster performance on the Stroop task an hour later, while 28 days of it produced only a non-significant trend on self-rated stress.[18]
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. not stated (the blend weighs 1,925 mg in total; the 12-week trial in adults over 50 used 3.2 g a day of the mushroom alone)
Good to know. Generally regarded as safe as a food. Stomach discomfort, nausea and skin rash were reported by a few participants in one clinical study. Avoid if you are allergic to mushrooms.
A creeping perennial of wet ground and pond edges across India, with small oblong leaves and white to pale purple flowers. In some parts of India the name "brahmi" is also given to gotu kola, which is a different plant; some products list both.
Traditional and everyday use. One of the best-known plants of Ayurvedic practice, traditionally associated with memory, calm and sleep.
What the research says. This is the one ingredient on the tin with trials in the right age group. In 54 healthy adults aged 65 and older, 300 mg a day of a standardized extract for 12 weeks was associated with better delayed word recall and better performance on a task of ignoring distractions than placebo, with no effect on divided attention or working memory.[13] In 98 healthy adults over 55, the same daily amount for 12 weeks was associated with better verbal learning and delayed recall, while other measures did not differ.[14] A meta-analysis of nine such trials found faster performance on two attention-speed tests, by milliseconds, and called for a large well-designed trial.[19] All of that used standardized extracts in tablets for at least three months. A pinch of dried plant steeped in a twelve-ingredient tea blend, or a fraction of a milligram of glycosides in a spray, is not the same thing, and nobody has tested either.
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. not stated (the trials in adults over 55 used 300 mg a day of a standardized extract)
Good to know. The trials reported more stomach upset, looser stools, cramps and nausea than placebo.[14] Reference texts advise caution for anyone who takes anything daily for the body's own hormones, note it may slow the heart rate, and note it can affect how the organ that processes what you swallow handles some medicines. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
A compound the body makes from choline and cytidine on the way to building the phospholipids of cell membranes; sold as a supplement (the Cognizin brand is common) and used as a medicine in some countries.
Traditional and everyday use. No traditional use; studied since the 1970s.
What the research says. In a 12-week trial of 100 healthy adults aged 50 to 85 with age-associated memory impairment, 500 mg a day of citicoline was associated with greater improvement in episodic memory (a paired-associate test) than placebo; overall memory improved in both groups.[15] Mind Lab Pro provides half that dose. In a 28-day trial of 60 healthy women aged 40 to 60, 250 mg a day of the Cognizin form was associated with fewer errors on a computerized attention task than placebo; several authors were affiliated with the ingredient's maker.[20]
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. not stated (the 12-week trial in adults aged 50 to 85 used 500 mg a day)
Good to know. Well tolerated in trials at 500-2,000 mg a day; occasional stomach upset or headache. Ask a pharmacist if you take daily medicine.
An amino acid found almost exclusively in tea leaves (Camellia sinensis) and in a few mushrooms. A cup of brewed green tea contains roughly 25 to 60 mg of it. It is what gives green tea its savoury, brothy taste.
Traditional and everyday use. Consumed for centuries as part of everyday tea drinking in China and Japan; isolated and named in Japan in 1949.
What the research says. In a placebo-controlled study in men and women aged 50 to 69, a single dose of l-theanine was associated with a faster reaction time on an attention task and with more correct answers and fewer omission errors on a working-memory task.[21] The published summary of that study does not state the dose used, so no comparison with any product amount can be made from it. In a four-week crossover trial of 30 healthy adults averaging 48 years, 200 mg a day was followed by better verbal-fluency and executive-function scores; against placebo the verbal-fluency gain showed in the half who started lower, and two authors worked for the supplier.[22]
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. not stated
Good to know. Generally well tolerated. If you are pregnant, nursing, or take anything daily, talk to your doctor before adding any supplement.
The leaves of the tea plant, dried without the oxidation that turns the same leaves into black tea. Green, black and oolong teas all come from this one plant; only the processing differs.[7] It is the first ingredient printed on this tin, so it is very likely the bulk of the blend.
Traditional and everyday use. Drunk daily across Asia for centuries, and the base of most flavored tea blends sold today.
What the research says. Green tea carries caffeine and a small amount of the amino acid L-theanine. In one study in adults aged 50 to 69, a single dose of L-theanine was associated with a faster reaction time on an attention task and fewer errors on a working-memory task.[21] The summary of that study does not state the dose, and the tin does not state how much green tea is in a teaspoon. The National Institutes of Health notes that green tea contains caffeine, that harm to the organ that processes what you swallow has been reported mainly with green tea extracts in tablet or capsule form rather than with the drink, and that green tea may reduce the effectiveness of some medicines.[7]
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. not stated (the source of the 55 mg of caffeine the product page states)
Good to know. It contains caffeine, so it is a daytime cup, not a bedtime one, and worth limiting if caffeine unsettles your heart or your stomach. Green tea may reduce the effectiveness of some medicines (the NIH names nadolol, atorvastatin and raloxifene).[7] Talk to your doctor or pharmacist before drinking it daily if you take anything daily, or if you are pregnant or nursing.
A plant known as arctic root, golden root or rose root that grows in cold regions and at high altitude in Europe, Asia and North America. The root is the part used.
Traditional and everyday use. A long history of use in Russia, Scandinavia and other parts of Europe for fatigue and work performance.
What the research says. In a double-blind crossover study of 56 healthy young physicians on night duty, one tablet a day of a standardized extract was associated with better scores on tests of mental fatigue during the first two weeks.[23] The National Institutes of Health states there is not enough reliable evidence to say whether rhodiola is useful for any health-related purpose.
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. not stated
Good to know. Possibly safe for up to 12 weeks; side effects reported include dizziness, headache, trouble sleeping and dry mouth. Little is known about safety in pregnancy or breastfeeding. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
An orange club-shaped fungus grown commercially on grain or in liquid culture, sold as a stand-in for the wild caterpillar fungus of Tibet, which is far too rare and expensive for a supplement.
Traditional and everyday use. The wild fungus has a long history in Chinese practice as a tonic; the cultivated species is a modern substitute.
What the research says. We did not register a randomized trial of cordyceps on memory or attention in healthy adults for this page; the human studies we saw were about exercise performance and were small or mixed.
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. not stated (no trial of memory or attention in healthy adults registered)
Good to know. Generally well tolerated as a food; ask a pharmacist if you take anything that affects the immune system or clotting.
A short shrub of the nightshade family that grows in India, the Middle East and parts of Africa. The root is dried and extracted; the plant is also called Indian ginseng or winter cherry.
Traditional and everyday use. Used in Ayurveda, the traditional medicine of India, for more than 3,000 years, usually as a root powder taken with milk or ghee.
What the research says. In a placebo-controlled trial of 125 healthy adults aged 20 to 55 who reported stress, 300 mg per day of a sustained-release root extract for 90 days was associated with better memory and focus scores, better sleep and lower stress ratings than placebo.[24]
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. not stated
Good to know. Rare reports of harm to the organ that processes what you swallow have been described with ashwagandha products: stop and talk to your doctor if you notice unusual tiredness, dark urine, or yellowing of the skin or eyes. Not for use in pregnancy. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily for your hormones, or if you take anything daily.
A plant of the ginger family grown across India and Southeast Asia, whose orange-yellow underground stem is dried and ground into the spice that colors curry. Curcumin is the compound that gives it its color. In this blend it appears as small dried pieces.
Traditional and everyday use. A cooking spice and a dye for thousands of years, and a fixture of Ayurvedic practice.
What the research says. In an 18-month trial of 40 adults aged 51 to 84, a highly bioavailable form of curcumin (90 mg twice daily) was associated with better verbal memory, visual memory and attention scores than placebo.[25] That was a patented, concentrated preparation taken as a supplement, not turmeric steeped in water, and the National Institutes of Health states both that we don't know enough to conclude whether turmeric is beneficial for any health purpose and that harm to the organ that processes what you swallow has been reported in some people who took highly bioavailable curcumin formulations.[26] A pinch of turmeric in a cup of tea is the culinary kind, not the studied kind.
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. not stated (the 18-month trial used 90 mg of a bioavailable curcumin twice a day)
Good to know. Culinary amounts are widely used. Turmeric can cause nausea, reflux and stomach upset; concentrated bioavailable formulations have been linked to harm to the organ that processes what you swallow.[26] It may add to the effect of anything that thins the blood. Talk to your doctor before use if you take anything daily.
The world's most widely used stimulant, found in coffee, tea, cocoa, yerba mate and guarana. A cup of brewed coffee holds roughly 80 to 100 mg; a cup of tea, 30 to 50 mg.
Traditional and everyday use. Coffee and tea have been drunk for alertness for centuries.
What the research says. The European Food Safety Authority concluded in 2015 that single doses up to 200 mg and daily intakes up to 400 mg do not raise safety concerns for healthy adults, and that caffeine in moderate doses increases alertness and reduces sleepiness.[6] That is the honest size of the claim: it wakes you up; it is not a memory ingredient. The US Food and Drug Administration cites 400 mg a day, about two to three 12-ounce cups of coffee, as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in most healthy adults.[3]
Amount per serving in Magic Mind Original. 55 mg (about half a cup of brewed coffee)
Good to know. Can cause jitteriness, faster heartbeat, stomach upset and trouble sleeping, especially later in the day. Count it together with your coffee and tea. People sensitive to caffeine, pregnant women and people with heart rhythm concerns should ask their doctor.
*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. This information does not constitute medical advice and it should not be relied upon as such. This product is not a substitute for medication or other treatment prescribed by a physician or health care provider. Consult your doctor before starting any dietary supplement.
Set against the headlines that brought you here, this is the complete and honest position.
Things we cannot promise, and that nobody selling you a supplement can:
Things we can say honestly:
No. Those attributions are advertising language. No named or identifiable expert made those statements, and none has endorsed this product.
None of the studies on this page is about plain coffee, and our "Coffee Tops The List" headline overstated it. What is worth watching is added sugar in coffee drinks, and caffeine late enough in the day to cost you a night. The Food and Drug Administration cites 400 milligrams of caffeine a day as an amount not generally associated with negative effects in most healthy adults. [3] This bottle carries 55 milligrams of its own, so count it in.
No. Not on your own, and not because of an advertisement. Take everything you take to your pharmacist and ask whether anything is a poor fit for your age.
The caffeine, at 55 milligrams, and only in a narrow sense. A crossover study of 27 volunteers found faster and more accurate attention switching an hour after 50 milligrams of caffeine taken with 100 milligrams of L-theanine, [27] and this bottle prints the caffeine figure but not the theanine one. Caffeine itself increases alertness at moderate amounts, which is not a memory claim. [6]
Because it sits inside a proprietary blend, which the law allows a company to print as one total with the names listed in order of amount. The line reads 1,925 milligrams for all nine names together. The lion's mane trial in adults over 50 used 3,200 milligrams a day of the mushroom on its own. [12]
They are printed honestly and they are real amounts. In adults who are not short of them, the pooled evidence for B vitamins and everyday thinking is a null result, [17] and a large trial of vitamin D3 at twice this amount over three years found no benefit on a cognitive screening score. [16] The one genuine exception is vitamin B12, which is commonly low after 65 and is a blood test rather than a purchase. [10]
Possibly. Bacopa's own trials reported stomach upset, more frequent stools, cramps and nausea as the commonest side effects, [13] [14] and the amount of bacopa in this bottle is not printed. Take the first bottles with food and stop if it does not suit you.
Fifteen bottles is a fortnight and a day. You have 100 days on a first purchase and nothing to ship back: write to hello@magicmind.com or call (213) 568-6315 between nine and five Pacific time.
Yes. There are 274 on the seller's page and we read the ten most recent, all of which were marked as confirmed purchases. Four are quoted word for word elsewhere on this site, including one at two stars from a buyer who said it was no more than a half cup of coffee.
A fair question. Do not take our word for it. The references below are real, published sources you can look up yourself, and nothing in sections 4 and 5 requires you to buy anything or trust us. If this page and our headlines disagree, believe this page.
Yes, and you should. Every numbered reference below can be found by searching its authors and journal. For general information, the National Institute on Aging (nia.nih.gov) publishes plain-language material and sells nothing.
These are the sources behind the claims marked with a number above. Several are observational studies, which can show association but not cause. The studies of the nine names in the blend tested one ingredient at a time, in other people, at amounts this bottle does not print; several were run in adults far younger than our readers, and several were authored in part by the makers of the ingredient tested. The fact sheets are the governments' own. None of them tested this bottle. We have deliberately not cited anything for the claims we describe as exaggerated, because there is nothing to cite.
Citing a study does not mean the study is about this product. The studies above tested one ingredient at a time, at amounts this bottle mostly does not state, not the bottle itself; none of the research tested Magic Mind Original, and none of it supports it.
This site is an advertising publication. The Open Kitchen Journal is not a news organization, is not affiliated with any news outlet whose page our advertisements appear on, and is not affiliated with the National Institutes of Health, the Nobel Foundation, the Food and Drug Administration, or any medical body, university or government agency named on this page. Logos and names of publishers appear in our reporting dashboards only to describe where advertisements were placed; they imply no endorsement whatsoever.
The product on this site is made and sold by 10,000 Inc. of Venice, California. Headlines used in our advertising are promotional and may be dramatized, generalized or exaggerated for attention. Where a headline conflicts with this page, this page is correct. Individual results, testimonials and endorsements do not represent typical results. We are compensated when readers purchase products through our links.
Medical disclaimer. Nothing on this page is medical advice, diagnosis or treatment. Do not delay seeking professional advice, and do not stop or change anything a clinician gave you, because of anything you read here. If you are worried about memory or concentration, your own or a family member's, speak to a qualified healthcare professional. In an emergency, call your local emergency number.